Karnataka elections 2018: Bengaluru re-elects 22 of 26 MLAs


Voters of Bengaluru seems to have no qualms about their sitting MLAs. Of the 26 constituencies that went for polling on May 12, Bengaluru re-elected 22 of the sitting MLAs.

Interestingly, even though the Congress’s overall performance was bad, 11 of its sitting MLAs, except Priyakrishna from Govindaraj Nagar are re-elected. Chamrajpet B Z Zameer Ahmed Khan who quit JDS and joined the Congress too has won. BJP is no different. 11 out of its 12 MLAs, except Y A Narayanaswamy from Hebbal, have been re-elected.

While realtor Uday B Garudachar is the new entrant to the list of BJP’s city MLAs, former housing minister V Somanna, who had lost last election against Priyakrishna has made a re-entry this time.

While JDS’ K Gopalaiah has been elected again, R Manjunatha has emerged as a dark horse by defeating BJP’s sitting MLA S Muniraju in Dasarahalli.

In fact, the winning margin of the candidates is huge. It varies anywhere between 2,700 and 81,000 votes. A Shrinivasamurthy from Pulakeshi Nagar has a margin of 81,626 votes. Several sitting MLAs including Krishna Byregowda (Byatarayanapura) , M Krsihnappa (Vijaya Nagara) saw a steep decline in the winning margin compared to 2013 election.
This is an unedited news that first appeared on economictimes.indiatimes.com

Leave a Comment